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Photography and videography businesses refer to a person who provides photographic or film services, including the 
documentation of events, people, places, and things, and processing the photographs or film. Some 
photographers/videographers may sell photographs/films as a product to consumers. Below is a list of local, state, and 
federal requirements that may apply to these business types. 

 
AT  T H E  S T AT E  A N D  F E DE R A L  L E V E L :  

• Photography/Motion Picture Permit – Businesses planning to shoot or film on state property will need a State 
Film Permit. A minimum of four business days advanced notice before the planned day of the shoot is required 
for processing applications that do not include traffic control or complex activities. It is also necessary to provide 
insurance documentation when requesting to film on state owned property. 

o The online permits application and requirements can be found at http://film.ca.gov/state-permits/ 
• Photo Processing – Businesses planning on processing non-digital photographs which produce “silver only” 

hazardous waste may need to register as a hazardous waste generator with the Department of Toxic Substances 
Control under the California Environmental Protection Agency. 

o For more information on managing “silver only” hazardous waste, consult this fact sheet: 
https://dtsc.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2016/01/Onsite-Tiered-Permitting-Changes-in-
Regulation-of-Silver-Wastes-SB-2111.pdf 

• California Secretary of State (SOS) Filing – Not necessary for sole proprietors, but if you intend to form a 
corporation, limited liability company or partnership, you must file with the SOS. 

o SOS Forms: http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm 
• Income Taxes – All businesses are required to file state income tax with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and 

Federal Taxes with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS): 
o FTB: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab 
o IRS: http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes 

• Sales & Use Tax – If you will be selling tangible property, consult the California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration (CDTFA) for a Seller’s Permit. You may also qualify for a Resale Certificate. Note: These activities 
were formerly administered by the Board of Equalization (BOE). 

o Seller’s Permit info: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub73.pdf 
o Resale Certificate info: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub103/ 

• For Employers – If your business will have employees, be advised of the following: 
o Wages, Hours, & Working Conditions – Businesses with employees must comply with laws establishing 

minimum standards for wages, hours and working conditions. Consult the California Department of 
Industrial Relations website at https://www.dir.ca.gov/for_employers.html 

o Worker’s Compensation – Businesses with employees must maintain Worker’s Compensation Insurance 
coverage. Consult the California Department of Industrial Relations website 
at https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm 

o Employment Development Department (EDD) Registration – An employer is required to file a 
Registration Form within 15 days after paying more than $100 in wages to one or more employees. 
Please consult the California EDD website at 

http://film.ca.gov/state-permits/
https://dtsc.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2016/01/Onsite-Tiered-Permitting-Changes-in-Regulation-of-Silver-Wastes-SB-2111.pdf
https://dtsc.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2016/01/Onsite-Tiered-Permitting-Changes-in-Regulation-of-Silver-Wastes-SB-2111.pdf
http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab
http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-%26-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub73.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub103/
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm
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http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_sub  
ject. 

o Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) – Employers with employees, business partnerships, and 
corporations, must obtain a Federal EIN from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Businesses can obtain 
appropriate federal income tax forms from this location. Please consult the IRS website at 

https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers 

A T  T H E  L O C A L  L E V E L : 

• Business License – Most local governments require a business license (or business tax registration). If your 
business will be located in an incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an 
unincorporated area, contact the county. 

• Zoning – Whether you will be a home-based business or will occupy commercial space, consult your local 
planning department to be sure your business activities are permitted. If your business will be located in an 
incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the 
county. 

• Building Permits – Whether constructing a new building or making modifications to an existing one, most work 
that contractors perform require a building permit. If your business will be located in an incorporated city, 
contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the county. 

• Fictitious Business Name – A Fictitious Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA) statement is required when: 
the business name does not include the surname of the individual owner(s) and each of the partners; or the 
business name suggests the existence of additional owners; or the nature of the business in not clearly evident 
by the name of the business. This is always obtained from the county in which a business is located. 

• Small Business Development Center – You can also check in with your local Small Business Development Center 
(SBDC) as well. The SBDCs provide assistance to small businesses starting or growing and offer free advice and 
consulting. To find an SBDC closest to you, click this link and enter your zip code:  
http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/, they may be better equipped to advise you on local 
requirements. 

 
O N LI  N E  P ER M I T  A S S I S T AN C E  T O OL : 

You can use our online permit assistance tool, CalGOLD (www.calgold.ca.gov) to 
identify local, state, and federal permit information for businesses. The online tool 
provides webpage links, application forms, and contact information for the various 
agencies that administer and issue these permits. For permits and registrations 

administered by the State of California, CalGOLD also includes a Forms and Fee Finder with direct links to applications 
and fee information. Once at the website, input your city and type of business. If your business is not listed, you can 
select "General Business Information” for a list of general requirements. 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_subject
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_subject
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_subject
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/
http://www.calgold.ca.gov/
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C ON S I D E R A T I ON S : 

This Quick Start Guide is only one source of information among the many sources that are available to you. You may 
wish to consider multiple sources in order to make an informed decision. You are solely responsible for making a 
decision about how to form and create your business. You are responsible for determining whether the information you 
obtain through your use of this Guide is suitable for your purposes. 

 
Although we go to great lengths to make sure our information is accurate and useful, we recommend you consult a 
lawyer if you want legal advice or any other individual or service provider for specific guidance. We offer this for 
informational purposes only. 

 
P R O P  6 5 : 

Proposition 65, officially known as the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, requires businesses to 
provide a clear and reasonable warning before knowingly and intentionally exposing anyone to chemicals that are  
known to the state of California to cause cancer or birth defects or other reproductive harm. It is important to know that 
a product that receives certification from the United States Food and Drug Administration, or another federal agency or 
state agency, is not necessarily exempt from California requirements for chemical exposure warnings. Businesses should 
be aware of the levels of harmful chemicals in their products and of applicable Proposition 65 requirements. For more 
information on Proposition 65 and how to comply with its requirements, please visit https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-
65 

https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65
https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65
https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65
https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65
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