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A catering business refers to a business engaged in the preparation of food for service at various venues as determined 

by clients.  Below is a list of local, state, and federal requirements that may apply to these business types.  

A T  T H E  S T A T E  A N D  F E D E R A L  L E V E L :  

 California Retail Food Code – The California Health and Safety Code establishes requirements for food safety, 

including the hygiene, cleaning and sanitizing of equipment and utensils, food storage, and janitorial facilities. 

o Code: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/services/Documents/fdbRFC.pdf  

o Certifications: At least one employee must be certified in food safety by passing an approved Food 

Safety Certification examination, and all other employees involved in the preparation, storage or service 

of food in a food facility must obtain a Food Handler Card. 

 Alcohol License – The California Departing of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) administers a license for caterers 

engaging in the sale and service of alcohol. 

o Info: https://www.abc.ca.gov/FORMS/ABC525.pdf  

 California Secretary of State (SOS) Filing – Not necessary for sole proprietors, but if you intend to form a 

corporation, limited liability company or partnership, you must file with the SOS. 

o SOS Forms: http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm 

 Income Taxes – All businesses are required to file state income tax with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and 

Federal Taxes with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS): 

o FTB: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab 

o IRS: http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes  

 Sales & Use Tax – If you will be selling tangible property, consult the Board of Equalization (BOE) for a Seller’s 

Permit.  You may also qualify for a Resale Certificate. 

o Seller’s Permit info: http://www.boe.ca.gov/info/reg.htm 

o Resale Certificate info: https://www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/faqresale.htm  

o Tax Guide for Caterers: https://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/caterers.html  

 For Employers – If your business will have employees, be advised of the following: 

o Wages, Hours, & Working Conditions – Businesses with employees must comply with laws establishing 

minimum standards for wages, hours and working conditions. Consult the California Department of 

Industrial Relations website at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse.html. 

o Worker’s Compensation – Businesses with employees must maintain Worker’s Compensation Insurance 

coverage. Consult the California Department of Industrial Relations website 

at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm. 

o Employment Development Department (EDD) Registration – An employer is required to file a 

Registration Form within 15 days after paying more than $100 in wages to one or more employees. 

Please consult the California EDD website at 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_sub

ject. 
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o Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) – Employers with employees, business partnerships, and 

corporations, must obtain a Federal EIN from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  Businesses can obtain 

appropriate federal income tax forms from this location. Please consult the IRS website at 

http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Apply-for-an-Employer-

Identification-Number-(EIN)-Online 

A T  T H E  L O C A L  L E V E L :   

 Business License – Most local governments require a business license (or business tax registration). If your 

business will be located in an incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an 

unincorporated area, contact the county. 

 Zoning – Before you sign a lease or purchase agreement, consult your local planning department to be sure your 

business activities are permitted in your desired location. If your business will be located in an incorporated city, 

you would obtain this information from the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, you 

would obtain this information from the county. 

 Fictitious Business Name – A Fictitious Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA) statement is required when: 

the business name does not include the surname of the individual owner(s) and each of the partners; or the 

business name suggests the existence of additional owners; or the nature of the business in not clearly evident 

by the name of the business.  This is always obtained from the county in which a business is located. 

 Health Permit – Commercial kitchens used to prepared food or beverages for human consumption will need a 

health permit, usually obtained from the county environmental health department. Most health departments 

also conduct periodic inspections of facilities and equipment. 

O N L I N E  P E R M I T  A S S I S T A N C E  T O O L :  

You can use our online permit assistance tool, CalGOLD (www.calgold.ca.gov) to 

identify local, state, and federal permit information for businesses. The online tool 

provides webpage links, application forms, and contact information for the various 

agencies that administer and issue these permits. For permits and registrations 

administered by the State of California, CalGOLD also includes a Forms and Fee Finder with direct links to applications 

and fee information. Once at the website, input your city and type of business. If your business is not listed, you can 

select "General Business Information” for a list of general requirements. 

C O N S I D E R A T I O N S :  

This Quick Start Guide is only one source of information among the many sources that are available to you. You may 
wish to consider multiple sources in order to make an informed decision. You are solely responsible for making a 
decision about how to form and create your business. You are responsible for determining whether the information you 
obtain through your use of this Guide is suitable for your purposes. 
 
Although we go to great lengths to make sure our information is accurate and useful, we recommend you consult a 
lawyer if you want legal advice or any other individual or service provider for specific guidance. We offer this for 
informational purposes only.  
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